Redesigning my Etsy Shoppe

In October I opened an etsy shop called Lavender Beauty Co. The inspiration for the shop and its name came into being for a number of reasons.

First of all, when we got married, Dane and I had a pound or so of dried lavender flowers left over. They were used for the flower girls to throw as they walked down the isle and for guests to throw at us during the send off. But I’d slightly overestimated how much we’d need…

Our little flower girls with baskets full of lavender.

Our little flower girls with baskets full of lavender.

I started exploring different ways to put it to use. I began making scrubs with lavender, aromatherapy pillows filled with lavender, and even used it for baking making lavender lemon bars, vanilla lavender muffins…however most of what I made were beauty products. This led me to explore other beauty products I could make. Around this time I realized that a lot of the time there is gluten in beauty products. It is often disguised as the fragrance, or as proteins. As many of you who have read my blog know, I have pretty severe celiac disease. So I was reacting to gluten in my make up and shampoos, causing me to break out, have itchy, red skin, and so on. In the process of finding gluten free beauty products, I also started experimenting with making homemade lotions and lip balms and was actually really happy with the results.

I wanted to start sharing my products with others so I decided to open an etsy shop. I couldn’t come up with a name. I am terrible at naming things. It can take me months to come up with a satisfactory name for anything. However, I was overly eager to get this etsy shop started, so I settled. “Lavender Beauty Co”  became the name, because the whole thing was inspired by lavenders, and it was beauty products, so it was just obvious and made sense. For the time being it worked.

Whipped Body Oil

Lavender Scented Whipped Body Oil -made with coconut oil, almond oil, beeswax, cocoa butter, and lavender essential oil.

However as time passed, I had trouble coming up with a design that fit well with the theme that the shop name implied. I wasn’t connected with the title of the shop or with any of the potential labels, logos, and so on that I was coming up. Uniformity was lacking in my shop. I wasn’t connected to the shop, I was even starting to lose interest in my own shop. I could imagine how boring it must have been for the people looking at it.

As an aside, I am very interested in conceptual, minimalist art. The art that I make tends to reflect these interests. The problem with my shop was that the design did not align with my artistic interests. Even this blog you are reading right now reflects the concepts of design (and art) that resonate with me: simplicity, minimalism,  no fluff. But my shop was messy, and its appearance a compilation of a bunch of failed attempts that kind of looked ok together, but did not reflect me. It wasn’t my shop, I wasn’t attached to it.

One of my latest conceptual paintings.

One of my latest conceptual paintings -made with oil paint and turpentine on canvas.

As I realized this I tried to come up with ways to truly personalize my etsy shop. My thought process was: if the shop design is an accurate expression of who I am, then I would have less trouble with maintaining a clear, uniform, and consistent appearance. This would also mean I would actually like my shop and like how it looks. All of this in turn would be more attractive, rather than confusing to potential customers, and provide them with a streamline and concise experience.

So I decided it was time for a remodel. I was going to redesign my shop! I am really excited about this process. Step one was coming up with a name that actually meant something.

As I mentioned, I am really really slow at naming anything. So I started with talking to my husband and sister, to bounce ideas off of them. This process started in December. They responded by asking what was the philosophy behind my shop, or what was I even trying to express in a name? This got me thinking. I wanted to express the idea of minimalism. I make my products with very few ingredients because I want to showcase how amazingly beneficial particular ingredients can be. For example, my lip balm recipe contains nothing more than some high quality coconut oil, local beeswax, and essential oils for scent. The people who have used this lip balm have all told me it is the best lip balm they have ever used, and I agree! These testimonies go to show how the use of a few, quality ingredients can have remarkable results. So I wanted this philosophy of quality, simplicity, and minimalism to be part of the inspiration behind the name.

Meanwhile, my husband (who is a major math nerd) was dragging me to our little white board every night to show me cool equations he’d learned about that day in school. Generally everything he showed me was way over my head (math is just not my forte) but occasionally I was truly intrigued. One day as we were discussing potential names for my etsy shop he referred back to something he’d recently shown me- natural log e. Natural log e equals one. It is represented by “ln e”. I immediately knew that was it. It was simple, it represented the number 1, what could be more perfect?

So came the name. Once I had the name, the design was the next step. I toyed with the idea of making the shop super mathematical in design, but I soon realized that I was likely to make up things that made absolutely no sense, and anyone who knew anything about math would spot that immediately. Also, this would once again lead to the problem I’d run into before- this would just not be me. I would be constantly depending on Dane to help me with this sort of design (and let’s be honest-that’s not really how he wants to be spending his time). So I backed away from that idea.

It all came down to choosing a font. Ever since watching this documentary, I have loved the Helvetica font and have wanted to use it for something significant. I decided rather than to have a logo or something, I would just simplify my design to the name and the font. It ended up working quite nicely I think.

Lip balms from my shop with the new design!

Lip balms from my shop with the new design!

The shop is all pretty much set up with the new design. Check it out here. I’d love to receive any feedback!

 

etsy banner

 

Leave a Reply

