The Dane and Karolina Story of Bacon (Featuring recipe: Gluten Free Pancake That Actually Taste Like Pancakes)

Since we got married *almost* exactly six months ago, Dane and I have a tradition involving bacon, that happens almost every week.

Before I met Dane, I had never really experienced good bacon, so I told him throughout our dating relationship that I hated bacon. This of course, horrified Dane, because he loves bacon. One Saturday morning, probably around 10 or 11 am, we decided to make a real, big, tasty breakfast. Dane made the bacon, and I made an omelette and some pancakes. If you’ve ever made bacon with Dane, you’ll know that this is no small task to be taken lightly. Dane is very precise and detail oriented when it comes to his bacon making. All this to say, I LOVED that bacon, and have ever since been an appreciator of bacon, and we have had our bacon-etc-brunch nearly every Saturday since.

20130625-212418.jpg

This post isn’t actually about bacon however. Like I said, Dane is the bacon expert, and I, to this day, have still never (successfully) cooked bacon. This post is about making pancakes.

Pancakes, in my family of too many gluten intolerant people, have always been a challenge. Pancakes are one of the most simple and delicious (and horribly unhealthy) things ever when you can whip up a 99 cent box of pancakes mixed with milk (or sometimes even water) on the stove and call it pancakes. However, I can’t exactly do that.

When my sister went gluten free five or so years ago, it was virtually impossible to find most decent tasting, gluten free replacements to things like bread, cookies, or pancakes. I watched her trial and error again and again over trying to make pancakes that had the right consistency, texture, and didn’t taste like soapy dirt. It was painfully heart wrenching to see her pancakes fail as the rest of us kids ate fluffy, cheap boxed pancakes with no problem (this was long before I discovered I had celiac disease).

With this background, I have always been somewhat hesitant about making pancakes. On one of Dane and I’s Saturday brunches however, I wanted pancakes. So I flipped through a 1980’s cookbook of wheat free foods and found a basic recipe that I adapted a bit, but overall was totally pleased with. I was pretty shocked that something from a 1980’s cookbook was gluten free, and actually tasted good, since most gluten free store bought options before a couple years ago when becoming gluten free became this huge fad, tasted like total poop.

So below is my recipe. I changed a few things from the original, such as added eggs and used brown rice flour instead of white rice flour, but overall, it is adapted from the recipe for Rice and Potato Pancakes found in this book.

Easy Gluten Free Pancakes That Actually Taste Like Pancakes

20130625-205812.jpg

20130625-205656.jpg20130625-205841.jpg

ngredients:

  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup potato flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp pure honey
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup goat milk (or lactose free milk alternative
  • 1 egg

Directions:

Mix the flours, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the honey, milk and egg. Pour some melted coconut oil in a small cast iron pan (or any pan) and heat on medium. Add batter to the pan according to the size pancakes that you want, keeping on medium-low heat. When the top of the batter is bubbling a bit, flip over. When the bottom side is golden brown, the pancake is ready. Continue with the rest of the batter. You can keep the pancakes warm by stacking them in an oven safe pan in the oven with the temperature at 200F or less.

Enjoy these right away, while warm, with some coconut oil instead of butter, and some pure maple syrup or honey. Also, with some bacon for sure, and eggs if you’d like.

Makes about 6 medium size pancakes.

Leftovers can be stored, wrapped, in the fridge, and toasted just before eating.

Leave a Reply

